The Georgia Mountains Regional Commission (GMRC) is a sub-state district created by local governments in 1962 under provisions of Georgia Enabling Law. The purpose of the GMRC is to locally promote and guide development of human, natural, physical, social and economic resources in the Georgia Mountains Region. The area covers 3,500 square miles, and includes Banks, Dawson, Forsyth, Franklin, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Lumpkin, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, and White Counties.

The GMRC offers a wide variety of services to its 51 local governments, which include 13 counties and 38 municipalities. The GMRC works with these entities to formulate goals and strategies for area growth and development. Upon request, the GMRC provides a variety of technical assistance that will improve community services and the quality of life for Georgia Mountains residents.

The GMRC is guided by a forty-four (44) member Council and is composed of individuals appointed by the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Speaker and one county elected official, one city elected official and one private sector individual from each of our 13 counties.† City, County and private sector representatives are chosen by the cities and counties they represent.† The Council is responsible for all policy decisions.

The GMRC interacts with many agencies at regional, state, and federal levels. These agencies work with the GMRC to coordinate and complement the delivery of services to governments and citizens of the Georgia Mountains area.

The GMRC is funded by a variety of sources, including federal, state, and local funds. The annual RC budget is reviewed and approved by the Council.

The GMRC focuses its broad scope of responsibility through the following departments: Planning, Economic Development, Workforce Development, Information Services, Finance and Administration.

On July 1, 2009, Georgia Mountains Regional Development Center was renamed Georgia Mountains Regional Commission.† This event was part of the State of Georgiaís restructuring of itís regional boundaries.



Meeting Announcements and Events

Counties and Cities

Council, Boards and Committees

Office Locations

Senior Management Team

Staff Contacts

GMRC Newsletter


1310 West Ridge Road

PO Box 1720

Gainesville, Georgia 30503

(770)538-2626† Fax (770)538-2625

Text Box: Administration
Text Box: Economic Development
Text Box: Information Services
Text Box: WorkSource Georgia Mountains
Text Box: Planning

Georgia Mountains Regional Commission Mission Statement:

To serve the local governments of the Georgia Mountains Region by improving the quality of life through economic development, community planning, information technology, and workforce development to support and enhance the regionís prosperity.

Important Links